





In collaborazione con











Participants to the VINC Conference



Seyda CANEPA (NTV)

Seyda CANEPA is a journalist, news-correspondent for the Turkish News Channel NTV and for CNBCE, currently in Italy. Alongside this experience she has realized, as author and host, different programmes on international politics, economics and energy in the framework of NTV. Previously, she was correspondent in the Middle-East for 3 years and war correspondent during Gulf War II. She has been working in collaboration for the past years with several Italian programmes such as TG5 and Radio Radicale.

Asuncion GOMEZ BUENO (Canal 24 Horas)

Asuncion GOMEZ BUENO is the Director of Canal 24 Horas, the first Spanish *All-News Channel*. She is also Vice-chair of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) News Committee. Previously she was Head of the Exchange and Cataloguing department of Televisión Española (TVE), has directed the Eurovision News Exchanges service and the Exterior Relations department of TVE. She is member of the Mediterranean Observatory of Communication (OMEC) and COPEAM News Exchange Commission.



Nabil KHATIB (Al-Arabiya)

Nabil A. I. KHATIB is the Executive Editor – Al-Arabiya News Channel. Prior to this he was the Al-Arabiya Bureau Chief of Palestine / Israel Bureaus. He has also served as the Bureau Chief for Middle East Broadcasting Center (MBC), Jerusalem office and Director – Birzeit University Media Institute. Alongside these activities he has been a Media Consultant for several International NGOs.

Alexey NIKOLOV (Russian Today)

Alexey NIKOLOV is Deputy Editor-in-Chief of Russia Today including both the English and Arabic services. He joined Russia Today in 2005 after a carrier started in sports reporting and the coverage of major sporting events, including major world championships and the Olympics. During the 1980's, when perestroika took place, he made the change for news journalism and, in 1990, joined Russia's first-ever independent radio station, Echo of Moscow, as a news anchor and reporter. Since 1994, he has mostly worked in television, and was one of key launch team members for the new national REN TV network.





Lucian SARB (Euronews)

Lucian SARB is Head of editorial staff at Euronews. He leads an editorial staff composed of 350 journalists, making up eight linguistic teams of Euronews. He started his journalistic career in 1994, at the Romanian Television. He has had an important role in the development of the cooperation between Euronews and TVR, which led, to the launch, in 2004, of the first daily news broadcast in the Romanian language, broadcast on the second channel of the public television. After 2006, he participated in the creation and development of the first economic and financial TV channel in Romania.



Antonino ABRAMI

Prof. Antonino ABRAMI is the Acting President of International Academy of Environmental Sciences (IAES) and Appeal Judge at the Venice Court of Appeal Judge. He is the former holder of the *Jean Monnet* Chair in European law at the University of Urbino and is Professor Emeritus of the University of Nova Gorica (Slovenia).

Paolo SILVERI

Paolo SILVERI is Country programme manager for the Latin America and Caribbean Division at International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD). He is a development economist and has been working at IFAD since 1993. Previously he has worked from 1989 to 1991as a volunteer in International civil service in Central Africa, with head office in Burundi.





Maria Grazia CAVENAGHI SMITH

Maria Grazia CAVENAGHI SMITH is the director of the Milan office of the European Parliament since 1999. She is also professor at the Carlo de Martino Institute in Journalism (Milano) and member of the Scientific Committee of the Renzo Imbeni summer School (Modena). Previously, Ms. CAVENAGHI SMITH has worked as an interpreter at the European Parliament and as editor and press officer at the Information and Public Relations general direction.

Freddy Paul GRUNERT

Freddy Paul GRUNERT is an artist and philosopher, counsellor of the ENVI Commission of the European Parliament, member of the Scientific Committee of the International Academy of Environmental Sciences (IAES), Curator of the ZKM - Center for Art and Media (Karlsruhe), and member of the board "Art and Climate Change" of the Council of Europe.



In 2008, he founded the organization 'selph2' an institutional interface for the promotion of immaterial values.



Jo LEINEN

Jo LEINEN is Chair of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety of the European Parliament and member of the Conference of Committee Chairs and the delegation for relations with India. He has been member of the European Parliament since 1999 after a career in German politics holding positions as European affairs secretary of the SPD youth organisation (1977-1979), member of the SPD's environment commission (1981-1985), member of the Saarland regional executive of the SPD (1985-1999) and member of the SPD's European affairs commission (1996-1998).

Adolfo PÉREZ ESQUIVEL

Adolfo PÉREZ ESQUIVEL is an Argentine sculptor, architect and pacifist. He was the recipient of the 1980 Nobel Peace Prize. He is noted for leading protests against the Free Trade Area of the Americas and for bringing attention to the act of Argentine police forming children into paramilitary squads. Since 2003, he is President of the International Academy of Environmental Sciences (IAES),

